JANUARY 2023 OFFER: Buy any 4 LPs and get 2 LPs free of your choice!

Your Cart

No products in the cart.

100% Secure Checkout!

New death metal supergroup HEADS FOR THE DEAD sign to Transcending Obscurity Records

Transcending Obscurity Records is proud to welcome the ambitious death metal band of Ralf Hauber (Revel In Flesh) and Jonny Pettersson (Wombbath, Henry Kane, Ursinne) called Heads for the Dead to its family. Expect crushing old school death metal inspired by horror movies and having a great sound and atmosphere to boot. They join the roster having death metal bands such as Paganizer, Down Among The Dead Men, Ursinne, Feral, De Profundis, Echelon, Rogga JohanssonCome Back From The Dead and many more.

The debut full length ‘Serpents Curse’ will soon be scheduled for release this year on multiple formats. The title track will be revealed via the 2018 label sampler next week.

Transcending Obscurity Records label owner Kunal Choksi states, “I’m absolutely honoured to work with Ralf Hauber of Revel In Flesh in a special project that involves my friend Jonny Pettersson of Henry Kane, Ursinne, Wombbath, Pale King, etc. The moment I heard Heads for the Dead, I knew this was world class death metal – it eschews any particular style of the music and in fact uses influences from a few to meld a form of death metal that’s powerful as well as atmospheric. The album will have an ambitious multiple format release and you all will get to listen to their first track via the coming 2018 label sampler.”

Ralf Hauber comments: “The Heads For The Dead debut album has grown in an over two years long working process! Countless hours of work on vocal lines, the concept, arts and most of all the absolutely refreshing experience in working for the first time with Jonny Pettersson as main composer and producer on a project! On the one hand it felt like running free, since there was no expectation, no limitation, although on the other hand everybody knows that you can never deny your roots! The complete album has musically many faces, many raging influences, many depths and extremes sides, too. The vocals belong to my most extreme and challenging works thus far! The exciting moment of unveiling this trip to the everflowing spheres of horror is soon to come! We are looking forward to the co-operation with the rising and ambitious new label Transcending Obscurity Records! The “Serpent’s Curse” is unbound!!!”

Jonny Pettersson adds, “When we started working on the songs for Heads for the Dead, I knew that we had something special brewing. Our own take on old school extreme metal, where our obsession with old horror movies shines through in everything from the music to the visual aspects. Knowing that we had something good going on, I knew that we needed a label that could do the album justice, and I am proud that say that Kunal and his label Transcending Obscurity Records accepted our offer.”

Heads for the Dead are –
Hauber – Chants from the Krypts (Revel In Flesh)
Pettersson – Symphonies of the Curse (Wombbath, Henry Kane, Ursinne, Pale King)

Session members:
E. Bevenrud – Battery (Stass, Down Among The Dead Men)

Guest string terror:
Matt Moliti – Guest solos (Sentient Horror)
Hakan Stuvemark – Guest Solos (Wombbath)

Artwork and layout by Branca Studio (Paradise Lost)
Logo by Mark Riddick (Fetid Zombie)

‘Serpent’s Curse’ tracklisting:
1. Serpent’s Curse
2. Heads for the Dead
3. Deep Below
4. Post Mortem Suffering
5. The Awakening
6. Death Calls
7. Of Wrath & Vengeance
8. Gate Creeper
9. The Return to Fathomless Darkness
10. In Darkness I Feel No Regrets


Heads for the Dead Facebook | Transcending Obscurity Records Bandcamp


Join the Transcending Obscurity family and get free download codes, discount coupons, the latest news, videos, and more!