ALBATROSS (India) – Fear from the Skies

Albatross, arguably India’s most well-known heavy metal band, release their debut full length on Transcending Obscurity India. After releasing two well known albums, one EP and one split, the members have spent years perfecting their magnum opus titled ‘Fear from the Skies’. With impeccable production values, every note is cleanly heard, every chord strikes a deadly blow and equipped with exceptional storytelling skills, the album resonates as a chilling two-fold concept well after it is over. From the fictional character “Jugglehead the Clown” to the tale of the “flying assassin” this album has a lurid lyrical theme brought to life by the juicy and vibrant clean singing vocals of Biprorshee Das, punctuated by the classy solos of three guitarists in the band. In every department Albatross shine like no other, rich in compositions, execution and memorability.


Line-up –
Dr. Hex – Bass
Biprorshee Das – Vocals
Vigneshkumar Venkatraman – Guitars
Nishith Hegde – Guitars
Varun Singh – Guitars
Jay Thacker – Drums

Artwork – Scribble Bandit (Rahul Chacko)

Albatross Facebook

DORMANT INFERNO (India)/DIONYSUS (Pakistan) – Beyond Forgotten Shores (Doom/Death/Black Metal)

Dormant Inferno from Mumbai pioneered the doom metal movement in India. Back when most in the region were just accustomed to death and thrash metal music, Dormant Inferno gave the fans something different yet bold – a pure expression of death/doom metal, just as the band members wanted. They know their music and what’s even better is that they’ve evolved since the legendary demo ‘In Sanity’ was unleashed upon the unsuspecting Indian audience. The new songs are varied and dynamic, offering a brilliant and well-tempered contrast of aggression and melody, showcasing the band’s innate compositional skills as well their penchant of looking forward and doing things their way.

Dionysus from Pakistan made quite an impact with their debut release ‘Hymn to the Dying’ which was re-released by international labels. Despite a background not conducive to metal music, the band captured brilliant strains of poignancy in their music, a heart-wrenching melodic sense and a sublime texture that works independently to give off different moods in a metal context. Immediately evocative of past glories and lost chances, Dionysus weave two marvellous songs, oft-intertwining a myriad of emotions, always elegantly expressed.

Both bands are signed to Transcending Obscurity India, a sub-label of Transcending Obscurity formed to give professional support and backing to the deserving bands from the Indian subcontinent. ‘Beyond Forgotten Shores’ is only the second release on the sub-label.


Artwork is painted by the label owner, Kunal Choksi.

‘Beyond Forgotten Shores’ Line up –

Dormant Inferno:
Gautam Shankar – Vocals
Sunny Bhambri – Guitars, Bass
Lenin Kharat – Keyboards

Sheraz ahmed – Guitar, Drums
Umair Ahmed – Guitar
Waleed Ahmed – Vocals, Bass, Acoustic Guitar

Dormant Inferno Facebook

Dionysus Facebook


DJINN AND MISKATONIC (India) – Forever in the Realm (Doom Metal)

Djinn and Miskatonic from India are one of the most unique doom metal bands from the country. Merging doom metal with sounds of stoner, sludge and even death/doom metal, ‘Forever in the Realm’ is an exploration of all that is eldritch and dark. No two songs are same, each one crafting its own gritty tale of witchcraft, high adventures and alcoholic excesses. This is the debut full length and the band has done everything right in delivering world class doom that’s groovy, catchy and also unpredictable.